Monday, August 1, 2011

Devil's Kiss by. Sarwat Chadda

Title: Devil's Kiss
Series: Devil's Kiss Book #1
Author:  Sarwat Chadda
Publication Date: July 2009
Pages: 310
Genre: Paranormal
Rating:  4/5

Synopsis from Goodreads:  As the youngest and only female member of the Knights Templar, Bilquis SanGreal grew up knowing she wasn't normal. Instead of hanging out at the mall or going on dates, she spends her time training as a soldier in her order's ancient battle against the Unholy.Billi's cloistered life is blasted apart when her childhood friend, Kay, returns from Jerusalem, gorgeous and with a dangerous chip on his shoulder. He's ready to reclaim his place in Billi's life, but she's met someone new: amber-eyed Michael, who seems to understand her like no one else, effortlessly claiming a stake in her heart.But the Templars are called to duty before Billi can enjoy the pleasant new twist to her life. One of the order's ancient enemies has resurfaced, searching for a treasure that the Templars have protected for hundreds of years — a cursed mirror powerful enough to kill all of London's firstborn. To save her city from catastrophe, Billi will have to put her heart aside and make sacrifices greater than any of the Templars could have imagined.

Review:  We all knew all fallen angels couldn't be good. Of course they all have to be drop dead gorgeous, but they are definitely fallen for a reason, and Devil's Kiss shows that there is certainly not a fine line between the good angels and those who have fallen, trying to make their ways back to heaven, not matter the cost.

I absolutely adored this book. Billy was such a powerful main character. She took what life has dealt her with and either tried her best do do something about it, or took it in and moved on. There are so many instances that I feel under any other circumstances another girl would have crumbled but not Billy. Sure she is the only 15 she knows who has been training since age 8 to be a demon killer, but she doesn't let this fact define her. She is still out looking for what ever girl wants. 

The whole story plays out like a prophecy unraveling. The book is constantly changing directions. There seems to be an answer and then a curve ball is thrown at Billy that leads her to always have to choose between life and death, whether its her death or that of her love ones. But Billy was the type of character that I couldn't help but have absolute faith in. Though in some parts of the book she may have proved otherwise, she has a very wise head on shoulders and in the end will do what is best.

Basically Billy is in a battle with the devil... his brother actually, but still, things cannot end well. On the positive side of things, there is never a dull moment on that journey of hers. There are a numerous scenarios that the story could play out in, and in each one someone ends of up dead. But there are definitely a number of characters who throughout the book, I was hoping would suddenly turn over a new leaf and leave the dark side. But such a thing is definitely rare, especially when dealing with Fallen Angels.


Kay, by far definitely the character that grows most on me. In the beginning he had a cocky part of him (being psychic would do that to a person) that I hated, but after a while you can really see that in the end he felt a lot for Kay. But damn did he have to be so arrogant at times.


Pretty much I loved this book. It played out with so much suspense and twists and turns that there was definitely never a dull moment. Such a great range of characters from the good to the bad, and a sweet romance made this book an incredible read!


Overall: 


Recommendations: Fans of Lili St. Crow's Strange Angels Series and Jana Oliver's The Demon Trappers Series will instantly fall in love with the characters and plot twists of Devil's Kiss!



Characters: 4/5
Plot: 4/5
Originality: 4/5
Entertainment: 4/5
Ending: 4/5
Writing Style: 4/5
Cover: 5/5

0 comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails